How I Started Using Essential Oils

YLO_Starter-10.JPG

As I started writing this post I began to wonder why I hadn’t sooner. Was it fear?  Am I shy now? Do I think I will be rejected? Will people not believe me?

Then it occurred to me. I feel that way right now as I am writing this. I am afraid, shy, expecting rejection, and disbelief. And even though I am feeling all of these things right now I am glad to be able to write this post. I am glad that I love and believe in something so much that I would power through those emotions and legitimate fears.

The Start:

Over a year ago I started my journey with Young Living Essential Oils. It was all part of the larger journey Kha and I were on towards a healthier lifestyle. A lot of this transition included our eating habits, exercise routines, and the supplements/medicines we put in our bodies. Outside of our bodies we have been focusing on detoxifying our home by eliminating some cleaning products, finding easy and healthy cleaning solutions, and non-toxic ways to refresh the air.

When Kha and I started dating, Kha was introduced to the power of essential oils through his sister and a friend. When I would complain about an ailment he would rub peppermint oil or lavender oil on me and I would notice a difference in the way I felt every time. We bought oils through his sister for our first year of marriage, and even though peppermint, lavender, thieves, and lemon were super helpful for our lives, I knew that Young Living offered so much more.

To be completely honest, a lot went down in our first year of marriage. Kha and I both started grad school in Louisville, I was teaching in preschool (#germs), Kha had like 6 jobs all over the city, and we were downright exhausted. My emotional health was at an all-time low, our spiritual health was waning, and our poor puppy was constantly stressed. Our immune systems took the biggest hit that year and after I visited Urgent Care three times in one year I knew that it was time to get my life together and order my kit.

So I contacted Kha’s sister and told her that it is time. I am ready. And so I went for it; I snagged a starter kit from Young Living. This kit came with the Home Diffuser, 11 of the most popular essential oils, and an oily family to learn and grow with.

YLO_Starter-11.JPG

How I Incorporate Young Living into my Daily Life:

The Oils: Essential oils are volatile, meaning that their scent rises quickly into the air and spreads throughout a room. They are also versatile, with a wide variety of uses. Kha and I have found ways to incorporate the oils into our daily lives by either adding them or having them replace something that was toxic. There are three main ways you can use the oils: diffuse (or smell), apply topically, or take internally. I’m going to quickly list some general ways that I use the oils.

  • Aromatically – Diffuse
    • at night for restful sleep
    • during the day for mindful thought, relaxation, energy support
    • to purify the air of puppy scents and clean the air
    • to support our respiratory systems
    • to support emotional health

Make&Take-4.JPG

  • Topically
    • add to my face lotion to promote the appearance of healthy looking skin
    • to my toes at night for restful sleep
    • to my muscles to promote relaxation
    • to support a comfortable belly
    • add to a bath to promote rest and calm
  • Internally (Vitality Oils Only)
    • add to a glass of water in the morning to start the day
    • support health regimen before/after eating
    • add to food for extra flavor
    • support digestive balance (especially during travel)

The Rest: Kha and I have incorporated the oils into our lives and have begun to dabble in everything else the Young Living has to offer. We use the supplements now to support energy levels, boost our immune systems, clean our teeth, get us the vitamins we need, and clean our home chemical-free.

This was not an extensive list because there are so many more ways you can use these oils to support your daily lives according to your needs. And because it must be said, Young Living Oils are completely different quality from any other essential oil company. Check out the Young Living Difference and Seed to Seal Promise!

How you can start with the Kit:

The amazing thing about the Starter Kit is that it comes with 11 essential oils, a diffuser (I got the Home Diffuser), packets of sample oils and sample supplements. The Premium Starter Kit gives you the largest variety of essential oils for the most affordable price, making it the best way to begin integrating them into your day-to-day. 

YLO_Starter

This beautiful Kit comes with:

  1. Lemon Vitality Essential Oil (5ml)
  2. RC Essential Oil (5ml)
  3. PanAway Essential Oil Blend (5ml)
  4. Peppermint Vitality Essential Oil (5ml)
  5. Lavender Essential Oil (5ml)
  6. Thieves Vitality Essential Oil Blend (5ml)
  7. Copaiba Vitality Essential Oil (5ml)
  8. Frankincense Essential Oil (5ml)
  9. Purification Essential Oil Blend (5ml)
  10. DiGize Vitality Essential Oil Blend (5ml)
  11. Stress Away Essential Oil Blend (5ml)
  12. Diffuser (Home or Dewdrop Included)
  13. Welcome Booklet
  14. EO Users Guide
  15. Distributors Resources
  16. SEED Booklet
  17. AromaGlide Fitment
  18. 2 Sachets each of: Lavender, Peppermint, Peace & Calming, Lemon, Thieves
  19. 2 Samples of NingXia Red
  20. 24% off Wholesale Membership
  21. A wonderful community in the Living Well Now family

I use the oils found in the Starter Kit every day. They really are “every day oils”. And after trying NingXia Red from the kit I bought some and we take it daily to support our immune systems and stamina.

Being real, I am not a pusher (Mean Girls Ref). I only want to share the power that I have found in Essential Oils. I truly feel empowered in my daily life because of these tiny bottles. When I diffuse some of the blends I feel ready to take on the day; the Clarity Blend is my favorite right now in the day time and Stress Away is my favorite at night. After about 3 months of playing around with the oils we got into a wonderful groove of using them daily. Now 13 months after I purchased my kit I feel more confident in them than ever.

The great team I am part of? They are know as the Living Well Now (LWN) team and they are based in Phoenix, AZ. Being in Louisville, KY I have started calling myself the LWN-Bluegrass. So if you are in PHX there is a huge team out there for support and if you are in the Bluegrass it is me and some other ladies who are super passionate about the oils!

To start your journey with Essential Oils and Young Living, purchase your Premium Starter Kit by clicking HERE. The enroller and sponsor section will automatically fill in, so make sure that they are filled in with 3019819 so you can be part of my oily family! After you purchase your kit (or if you have questions before you do) email me at melaniedo (at) leafandpine (dot) com with the subject line: “Essential Oil Member” or “Essential Oil Inquiry” and I will email you back! There are two options given to you to buy the kit: Wholesale Member or Retail Customer. Buying the kit as a Wholesale Member gives you the 24% Wholesale Price on all future purchases!

Our current Promo with Young Living: When you purchase the kit before Aug. 31 Young Living will include a free bottle of Cedarwood Essential Oil (one of our night time faves). And if you add a second home diffuser (item #4683) by Aug. 28th, Young Living will throw in three 5 ml oils (Peppermint, Thieves, and Tangerine!). The total of the kit and added diffuser comes to $223.75 before shipping and tax! Seriously good deal. 15 oils and 2 diffusers for less than half of the price (retail is $453.39)! Consider it, friends.

You can also email me before, during, or after the sign-up process with your questions!

kdo-9668-P400-11.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Talk to y’all soon,

Melanie

Leave a Reply

