Life Gives You Character and Joy

20140428-212706.jpg
This was me on the first day of my internship this past semester. I was so nervous I thought I was going to throw up.

20140428-212839.jpg
This was me today, at the end of the last day of my internship this semester. I was so excited and thankful that is was over!!

There is a striking different between the two photos. From the first day to the last day, I changed so much throughout this internship. I learned from advocates, was intimidated in my conversations with attorney’s, and experienced so much. I am thankful for how I changed and everything that I learned. I would be lying if I said that it was easy because it was the opposite of that. This internship was one of the most difficult things I have ever done in my college career. I was incredibly outside of my comfort zone, but we are told that we are shaped the most when we are there. As of right now, I am thankful that I spent over 150 hours at the U.S. Attorney’s Office working with advocates of crime victims. I cannot wait to see what lies ahead of me as I take this experience and move forward in life, and I hope I never lose that sense of terror and fear as I move on to bigger and more terrifying things.

Leave a Reply

