Serving for God’s Glory

“Above all, keep loving one another earnestly, since love covers a multitude of sins. Show hospitality to one another without grumbling. As each has received a gift, us it to serve one another, as good stewards of God’s varied grace: whoever speaks, as one who speaks oracles of God; whoever serves, as one who serves by the strength that God supplies-in order that in everything God may be glorified through Jesus Christ. To him be glory and dominion forever and ever. Amen.” 1 Peter 4:8-11

I am not perfect, but I do serve a God who is perfect. He is perfect in strength, love, grace, and wisdom. He is sovereign over everything, all knowing, the perfect provision, deep amounts of mercy, and the kindest teacher. How can a love so deep exist? A love that desires to be constantly with you, that will show you the way to do anything, and that will keep you together when you want to fall apart. Love is not blind or forgetful, but I believe that love is deep and expands past who we are at our best and our worst moments. This love goes behind us, to who we were designed to be and also goes before us to who we are being shaped into. This love looks so much deeper than our emotional and mental capacity. While my love for myself, others, what I’m doing in Czech, and the future might waver and change based on the way that I am feeling, this love extends from the foundation and through the mess, to see us imperfect creations as being perfect.

I experienced this powerful truth in the deepest ways possible this week. Being used by God isn’t what it sounds like. We are not puppets in his puppet show, but we are invited into the work that he is continually doing. God works constantly in the lives of people and at times invites us into those moments to experience the joy of his work. I experienced this joy in profound ways this week. Being able to speak and listen to the girls at the second camp was such a gift. I learned about their lives, about myself, and about the God that I serve. I am love with the work of God. He changes lives. Calls people out of darkness and into his light. Replaces mourning and sadness with joy and dancing. He breaks down barriers that have worked to keep him out and gives us the chance to be with him. I am thankful and blessed to have seen this in the most tangible way this week.
Thank you all for your prayers this past week. God is doing amazing work in Czech and my heart, his plans always stand.

Love you all,
Melanie

20130721-120515.jpg

Leave a Reply

