Shout!!

Last night while on my way to a worship night in the center of the city of Phoenix, my heart began to fill with anxiety. There was such a pressure on my chest that it physically started to hurt. I started asking God to lift it, but it would just grow in intensity. When I arrived and began talking to my best friend Katie, she told me that it wasn’t anxiety I was feeling, but the pain I was feeling was the pain of the city. The broken hearts, sadness, tears, and weight from thousands of people was weighing down on my heart. I was given an intercessory spirit from God. As I began the worship the session and interceding for the city, the Lord gave me a word in Isaiah 59:16-21

“Therefore His own arm brought salvation for Him; and His own righteousness, it sustained him…so shall they fear the name of the Lord from the west and His glory from the rising of the sun; when the enemy comes in like a flood, the Spirit of the Lord will lift up a standard against him.”

These words brought me peace and comfort knowing that it is not me who is interceding, but it is God who is interceding for the city. He then led me to Joshua 6, the story of Joshua and the big wall of Jericho. Joshua followed the direction of the Lord and tells the Israelites not to shout until the day he says to shout and then they shall shout. After six days of walking around the city of Jericho, Joshua finally says, “Shout, for the Lord has given you the city!” and the wall fell down FLAT. They went into the city and were told not to take anything that is accursed unless, they too, shall become accursed. 

“But all the silver and gold, and vessels of bronze and iron, are consecrated to the Lord: they shall come into the treasury of the Lord”  

And the people took the city. The pieces of silver and gold and the vessels of bronze and iron are the people of this city. We are not meant to take the accursed things of this city with us and the people are not meant to be left behind while we take over this city. 

This was so incredibly powerful and impacted my heart. I am learning to take such joy in having an intercessory spirit and I pray that God would continue to grow this in me as I continue to intercede for the city. It is time to take this city for it is given to us. It is time to act, for we cannot have an encounter with the Holy Spirit and remain untouched. I am ready to heed the call the Lord has placed on my life. 

Leave a Reply

