Alter of God

How many times have we offered our King the few minutes left in our day or time that we aren’t fully there with Him? We are distracted, blinded by the world, too hurt to give him everything, too stubborn to let go, too worried to be vulnerable–so you give Him what you know you won’t miss. You won’t want that time back, that hurt, those words.

What are you offering at the alter of your King? I have been asking myself this same question and have found that I do not offer what my Master wants from me. He wants honor, love, our joy, our respect, and above all else he wants US.

“A son honors his father, and a slave his master. If I am a father, where is the honor due me? If I am a master, where is the respect due me?” says the LORD Almighty.” -Malachi 1:6

I haven’t been treating God the way He wants me to treat him. He is my master, my shepherd, my leader, and my friend. You know the saying, “You hurt those who you love the most”? Well this is how I see my behavior toward my King. I know that he will always love me and always see me as something beautiful, but that really gives me no excuse to be so ugly and disrespectful towards him. I want to offer up a beautiful sacrifice to him and I want to give him all of me.

“When you bring injured, lame or diseased animals and offer them as sacrifices, should I accept them from your hands?” says the LORD.” -Malachi 4:13

Through Christ I know that I am clean and healed. I know that He doesn’t see me as that girl who is broken, sad, and crying but He looks past that and sees what I CAN be. He lifts me up. I want to always offer my most beautiful things in my life and not only the things that are broken. I don’t want to only give my King my wounds to heal but I want to give him my treasures. He deserves my most valued possessions. What am I offering my King? We are to offer up our hurts to Jesus, but we are to sacrifice our treasures to the King. He gave us everything. I only want to give him my best.

“Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.” (Matthew 22:37)

Are you making a sacrifice when you worship your King? Don’t make Him settle for your leftover love, joy, honor, and respect. Give God your praise before you’re burnt out. He deserves our very best.

Leave a Reply

